NOTICE OF VACANCY IN JUDICIAL ELECTION DISTRICT 3A

Following an organizational meeting held on June 17, 2020, the Judicial Election District 3A Nominating Commission has established procedures for filling the vacancy that will result from the retirement of District Court Judge Don E. Courtney on October 1, 2020. Judicial Election District 3A consists of Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola and Palo Alto Counties.

Anyone wishing to apply for this position must complete the Judicial Application Forms available from the Iowa Judicial Nominating Commission website: <u>www.iowajnc.gov/districtcommissions/judicial-district-3</u>. To be eligible for consideration, applicants must be members of the State bar of Iowa, a resident of Judicial Election District 3A at the time they apply, and of such age that they will be able to serve an initial and one regular term of office before reaching the age of seventy-two years. One regular term of office is a period of six (6) years.

The position of district court judge primarily involves presiding over trials in civil, criminal, and family law cases within the counties of Judicial Election District 3A, but may also require presiding over cases in other counties of the Third Judicial District, as well as occasional assignments outside of the district. The current salary for the position is \$150,444.00 with benefits also available.

Each applicant must submit a hard copy of their application, as well as any supporting documents to the Chairperson of the Committee, namely: Judge David A. Lester, Dickinson County Courthouse, 1802 Hill Avenue, Suite 2506, Spirit Lake, IA 51360. The deadline for filing applications is July 10, 2020, at 4:30 P.M. The Chairperson must receive the completed application by that deadline for the applicant to be eligible for a later interview. The names of all applicants will be available to the public after the deadline for filing applications.

Each applicant must also provide a copy of their application and supporting documents to each of the ten (10) other members of the Judicial Election District 3A Nominating Commission. The names, addresses, and email addresses for each member of the Judicial Election District 3A Nominating Commission are attached to this Notice.

Each eligible applicant will be given an opportunity to appear before the entire Nominating Commission for a personal interview **at the Clay County Courthouse, District Courtroom, in Spencer, Iowa, on July 21, 2020.** The Chairperson will notify each eligible applicant of their interview time. Each applicant may also request an individual interview with each Nominating Commissioner prior to the scheduled interview date with each Commissioner having the discretion whether or not to grant the request.

Dated this 18th day of June 2020.

David A. Lester Judge David A. Lester, Chairperson District 3A Judicial Nominating Commission (Electronically signed due to Covid-19 restrictions)

2020 3A JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION MEMBERS

Bill Anderson 425 Euclid Avenue Cherokee, IA 51012 <u>bill@cherokeeia.com</u> 712-898-2505

Lois Clark 304 S. State Street Terril, IA 51364 <u>Ikunzclark@gmail.com</u> 515-231-3771

Jason Cook 209 W. Willow Street Cherokee, IA 51012 jason@cooklawcherokee.com 712-225-5175

Shawna Ditsworth 1212 18th Street Spirit Lake, IA 51360 <u>shawna@shawnaditsworth.com</u> 712-336-2901

Jodie Greig 3981 Highway 9 Estherville, IA 51334 jgreig@ncn.net 712-260-7428 Ellengray Kennedy 504 S. Summit Ave., P.O. Box 107 Bancroft, IA 50517 <u>thedayspa@spa-dee-dah.com</u> 515-885-2269

John M. Loughlin 231 West Maple Street Cherokee, IA 51012 <u>jmloughlinlaw@gmail.com</u> 712-225-2514

George Schneidermann 101 Briar Lane Rock Rapids, IA 51246 <u>georges@frontierbk.com</u> 712-470-3765

Abby Walleck 708 Lake Street Spirit Lake, IA 51360 <u>awalleck@spiritlakelaw.com</u> 712-336-1292

Pamela Wingert 1212 18th Street Spirit Lake, IA 51360 <u>pamwingert@gmail.com</u> 712-336-3911